Ron Bishop to Receive 2013 Maurice Kremer Groundwater Achievement Award

Ron Bishop


Contact: Jane Griffin
402-434-2740 ext.

LINCOLN, NE (November 1, 2013) – Ron Bishop has been a prominent figure in Nebraska’s water world – and because of his lifetime dedication to protecting and conserving groundwater he has been selected to receive The Groundwater Foundation’s 2013 Maurice Kremer Groundwater Achievement Award. Bishop will receive his award on November 25, 2013 at the Nebraska Water Resources Association and Nebraska State Irrigation Association joint convention in Kearney.

The Kremer Award was established in 1985 to recognize Nebraskans who have made a substantive contribution to the conservation and protection of Nebraska’s groundwater. Recent honorees include Dayle Williamson, Lee Orton and Mike Jess. (A complete list of past honorees can be found at the end of this news release).

“He was an excellent sounding board during those times when I was developing groundwater management and protection guides for the NRDs”, said Kremer selection committee member Bob Kuzelka. “He brought his NRD board into a progressive approach to groundwater management at a very early stage.”

Ron Bishop was the general manager of the Central Platte Natural Resources District since the formation of NRDs in 1972, and has played a critical role in helping to develop the NRD structure and promoting the importance of natural resources conservation. He has written and testified on water and conservation Legislative bills in Nebraska and in Washington D.C. Nationally, he was one of the founding members of the Ground Water Management Districts Association (GMDA) in the 1980’s; serving as president from 1989-2002. He also served on the National Water Resources Association board representing groundwater since 1990.

In Nebraska, Ron truly has exemplified a career and life dedicated to conserving and managing Nebraska’s natural resources, working with the NRD Board of Directors in local, state and national conservation projects. He has served on the Nebraska Water Resources Association for over 30 years and received the George W Norris Award for distinguished public service in 1985. During Ron’s tenure as general manager, the CPNRD has been innovative and accomplished many milestones to protect and conserve natural resources. This includes efforts such as Implemented Nebraska’s first Water Banking Program which provides water for new and future uses and maintains economic sustainability in rural economies. First NRD to implement a Prescribed Fire Program for area landowners to manage rangelands, restore grasslands and control invasive species. First NRD to help irrigation districts convert surface water irrigation to groundwater irrigation, increasing efficiency by irrigating the same number of acres and return excess water to the Platte River. Excess flows will help bring the over-appropriated area of the CPNRD back to a fully appropriated & used as part of the responsibility to the Platte River Recovery Implementation Plan.

The Kremer Award is chosen by a selection committee appointed by The Groundwater Foundation Board of Directors. Selection committee members include: Jim Goeke, University of Nebraska; Jane Griffin, President of The Groundwater Foundation; Don Kraus, Central Nebraska Public Power and Irrigation District; and Bob Kuzelka, University of Nebraska.


The Groundwater Foundation is a non-profit organization based in Lincoln, Nebraska with a mission to educate people and inspire action to ensure clean, sustainable groundwater for future generations. Since its inception in 1985, the Foundation has offered various educational programming for youth and adults. To learn more, visit

Past Kremer Award Winners

2012: Dayle Williamson
2011: Lee Orton
2010: J. Michael Jess
2009: Vance Anderson
2008: Ann Bleed
2009: Jim Cook
2006: Senator Ed Schrock
2005: Roger Patterson
2004: Darrell Watts
2003: Chris Beutler
2002: Eugene Haarberg
2001: Jim Goeke
2000: Wayne Madsen
1999: Richard Harnsberger
1998: Les Sheffield
1997: Robert B. Daugherty
1996: Frank A. Smith
1995: Fred Salmon and Family
1994: Virginia Smith
1993: Robert B. Crosby
1992: Ted Filipi
1991: Ralph Marlette
1990: Warren Fairchild
1989: Val Kuska
1988: Eugene Reed
1987: Maurice Kremer
1986: Vincent Dreeszen

Powered by Firespring