Skip to main content

Robert Kuzelka to Receive 2014 Kremer Groundwater Achievement Award

Bob Kuzelka


Contact: Jane Griffin
402-434-2740 ext.

LINCOLN, NE (October 7, 2014) – Robert D. Kuzelka, who has spent most of his professional life educating others about groundwater and natural resources, has been selected to receive The Groundwater Foundation’s 2014 Maurice Kremer Groundwater Achievement Award. Kuzelka received his award on October 7, 2014 at The Groundwater Foundation’s National Forum in Las Vegas, Nevada. The Kremer Award was established in 1985 to recognize Nebraskans who have made a substantive contribution to the conservation and protection of Nebraska’s groundwater. Recent honorees include Ron Bishop, Dayle Williamson, Lee Orton and Mike Jess.

“Bob has been a consistent advocate for good things in Nebraska. He has always been a supporter for common sense relating to groundwater problems in Nebraska and is richly deserving of the Kremer Award,” said Kremer selection committee member and past Kremer award winner Jim Goeke.

Bob Kuzelka is an Associate Professor Emeritus in the School of Natural Resources at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. As a full-time faculty member from 1979 to 2004, Kuzelka was affiliated with the Conservation and Survey Division; Department of Community and Regional Planning; Department of Forestry, Fisheries and Wildlife; University of Nebraska Water Center; and School of Natural Resources. From 2001 through 2008 he served as the director of UNL’s interdisciplinary Environmental Studies program. Kuzelka has co-authored two state water policy issue studies, developed handbooks on groundwater management planning for quantity and quality, and served as co-editor of The Groundwater Atlas of Nebraska and Nitrate Contamination/Exposure, Consequence, and Control. During his time at Conservation and Survey, Kuzelka served as project manager and contributing author for Flat Water: A History of Nebraska and it Water. Through all of these actions and more, Kuzelka has ensured that Nebraskan’s have knowledge of the groundwater that nourishes them.

But that’s not where Kuzelka’s contributions end. Kuzelka became involved with The Groundwater Foundation from almost the very beginning believing wholeheartedly in the importance of educating people about groundwater. His biggest contribution to The Groundwater Foundation and to groundwater across the nation has been his role in the design, development, and implementation of the Groundwater Guardian program. Groundwater Guardian is a program that provides support and encouragement for communities to begin groundwater awareness activities, motivation to Bob Kuzelka continue these efforts, and recognition for their achievements. In the early 90’s, Kuzelka took a sabbatical from UNL to help recruit communities into the Groundwater Guardian program. Over the course of a year, he worked with communities across the United States, including Seward, Nebraska. In 1994, eight communities were designated as the first class of Groundwater Guardian communities. Kuzelka, himself has been named a Groundwater Guardian for his dedication to the resource and to the program.

“I am proud to say that I introduced Bob Kuzelka to Susan Seacrest. Through their efforts the Groundwater Guardian program came into being and became the great success that it is today,” Goeke said.

The Kremer Award is chosen by a selection committee appointed by The Groundwater Foundation Board of Directors. Selection committee members include: Jim Goeke, University of Nebraska; Jane Griffin, President of The Groundwater Foundation; Don Kraus, Central Nebraska Public Power and Irrigation District.


Past Kremer Award Winners

2013: Ron Bishop
2012: Dayle Williamson
2011: Lee Orton
2010: J. Michael Jess
2009: Vance Anderson
2008: Ann Bleed
2009: Jim Cook
2006: Senator Ed Schrock
2005: Roger Patterson
2004: Darrell Watts
2003: Chris Beutler
2002: Eugene Haarberg
2001: Jim Goeke
2000: Wayne Madsen
1999: Richard Harnsberger
1998: Les Sheffield
1997: Robert B. Daugherty
1996: Frank A. Smith
1995: Fred Salmon and Family
1994: Virginia Smith
1993: Robert B. Crosby
1992: Ted Filipi
1991: Ralph Marlette
1990: Warren Fairchild
1989: Val Kuska
1988: Eugene Reed
1987: Maurice Kremer
1986: Vincent Dreeszen

Powered by Firespring