Skip to main content

Darcy Lecture Schedule

COVID-19 has necessitated changes be made to the traditional scheduling and presentations of the Darcy Lecture. Current circumstances dictated that all lectures in the first half of 2021 be presented in virtual format. The request period for potential hosts for virtual and potential in-person presentations to be scheduled now through June 2022 by Dr. Zhu closed August 27, 2021. The Groundwater Foundation will ultimately decide if a presentation will be virtual or in-person. (Those who submitted requests will receive appropriate communication.)

The current schedule (as of September 29, 2021) for 2021-2022 Darcy Lecture presentations follows.

Date Host Contact Topic Format
February 3, 2021 King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Saudi Arabia Guenther Glatz, Ph.D. (guenther@kfupm.edu.sa) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? Virtual
February 17, 2021 King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia Shuyu Sun (shuyu.sun@kaust.edu.sa) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? Virtual
March 11, 2021 Cambridge, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom Oliver Shorttle (os258@cam.ac.uk) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? Virtual
March 15, 2021 Los Alamos National Laboratory Earth and Environmental Sciences Division Philip H. Stauffer (stauffer@lanl.gov) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? Virtual
April 12, 2021 Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) and universities in the Wabash basin, United States Lixin Wang (lxwang@iupui.edu) Watershed-Scale Hydrological Models as a Community CyberPlatform for Research, Teaching, and Service to Society Virtual
May 25, 2021 EXPEC Advanced Research Center of Saudi Aramco Peng Lu (Peng.lu@aramco.com) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? Virtual
September 15, 2021 S.S. Papadopulos & Associates Inc., Darcy Lecture Series sponsor Limited capacity — must make reservation — Erica DiFilippo (ericad@sspa.com) TBD In-person
September 20, 2021 University of Delaware Holly Michael (hmichael@udel.edu) Hydrogeochemistry: Recent Advances and Opportunities and Challenges Ahead Virtual
September 22, 2021 Lamont-Doherty Observatory, Columbia University Martin Stute (martins@Ideo.columbia.edu) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? In-person
September 23, 2021 Dartmouth College Xiahong Feng (Xiahong.Feng@dartmouth.edu) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? In-person
October 1, 2021 Michigan State University Anthony Kendall (kendal30@msu.edu) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? Virtual
October 1, 2021 Western Michigan University, East Lansing Daniel P. Cassidy (daniel.cassidy@wmich.edu) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? Virtual
October 4, 2021 Hope College — Natural and Applied Science Jonathan Peterson (peterson@hope.edu) Watershed-Scale Hydrological Models as a Community CyberPlatform for Research, Teaching, and Service to Society In-person
October 4, 2021 Grand Valley State University Peter Riemersma (riemersp@gvsu.edu) Watershed-Scale Hydrological Models as a Community CyberPlatform for Research, Teaching, and Service to Society In-person
October 8, 2021 Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon Michael Campana (Michael.Campana@oregonstate.edu) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? In-person
October 11, 2021 Geological Society of America, Portland, Oregon, United States Andrea Brookfield (andrea.brookfield@uwaterloo.ca) Watershed-Scale Hydrological Models as a Community CyberPlatform for Research, Teaching, and Service to Society In-person
November 9, 2021 International Association of Hydrogeology the Great Britain Chapter Kirsty Upton (kirlto@bgs.ac.uk) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? Virtual
November 10, 2021 Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey Reed Maxwell (reedmaxwell@princeton.edu) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? Virtual
November 11, 2021 University of Delaware, Department of Earth Sciences Holly Michael (hmichael@udel.edu) Hydrogeochemistry: Recent Advances and Opportunities and Challenges Ahead Virtual
November 12, 2021 University of Alberta (Zoom host), University of Calgary, University of Regina, Simon Fraser University, Canada Daniel Alessi (alessi@ualberta.ca), Masaki Hayashi (hayashi@ucalgary.ca), Leslie Robbins (Leslie.Robbins@uregina.ca), Dan Marshall (marshall@sfu.ca) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? Virtual
November 15, 2021 NGWA To register, please copy and paste the following link in your web browser — https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_nqhhF8SGSsal5aJqiwd6qA How are Geochemical reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? Virtual
November 16, 2021 Environmental Professionals of Iowa Meredith Liechti (meredith.liechti@Eurofinset.com) Hydrogeochemistry: Recent Advances and Opportunities and Challenges Ahead Virtual
November 16, 2021 NGWA To register, please copy and paste the following link in your web browser — https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_4BnZMvOQR-OXYUI5ZTLVlw Hydrogeochemistry: Recent Advances and Opportunities and Challenges Ahead Virtual
November 18, 2021 NGWA To register, please copy and paste the following link in your web browser — https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Zj620IhaQxOBzQ_twRdWOw Watershed-Scale Hydrological Models as a Community CyberPlatform for Research, Teaching, and Service to Society Virtual
December 7, 2021 2021 NGWA Groundwater Summit (virtual event) Kathy Butcher (kbutcher@ngwa.org) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? Virtual
December 15, 2021 Groundwater Week 2021, Nashville, Tennessee, United States Kathy Butcher (kbutcher@ngwa.org) Hydrogeochemistry: Recent Advances and Opportunities and Challenges Ahead In-person
December 17, 2021 Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee John C. Ayers (john.c.ayers@vanderbilt.edu) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? In-person
April 7, 2022 2022 Joint North-Central and Southeastern Section meeting, Geological Society of America, Cincinnati, Ohio Dan Sturmer (sturmedm@ucmail.uc.edu) Watershed-Scale Hydrological Models as a Community CyberPlatform for Research, Teaching, and Service to Society In-person
April 8, 2022 U.S. EPA Office of Research and Development, Cincinnati, Ohio Heather Golden (Golden.Heather@epa.gov) Hydrogeochemistry: Recent Advances and Opportunities and Challenges Ahead Virtual
May 10, 2022 Washington State Hydrogeology Symposium (keynote), Tacoma, Washington Robert Mitchell (rjmitch@wwu.edu) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? In-person
May 17, 2022 Annual Meeting of the Geological Association of Canada, Mineralogical Association of Canada, International Association of Hydrogeologists — Canadian National Committee, and the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists, Dalhousie University. Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada Frank Magdich (frank@oakenviro.com) How Are Geochemical Reactions in Aquifers Connected to Climate Change Mitigation? In-person

Additional lecture sites will be posted as they are confirmed.


Powered by Firespring